RSS Feed

Conner Wedding

Oh April weddings, how I love thee 🙂  There are few times of the year I can get peonies and that typically can’t happen after Mother’s Day.  That’s why I love April weddings and think more brides should consider it the wedding month instead of June. Leah’s wedding color scheme consisted of golden yellow, royal blue, and metallic silver accents.

Image

Bridal bouquet of all white ‘Blizzard’ roses, peonies, and stock with variegated hosta leaves and lamb’s ear. The bouquet was wrapped with a ruffled chiffon handle to match the bride’s dress and yellow pearl pins.

Image

Image

Here you can really see the bouquet handle in all its beauty. The bride’s ruffles on her dress match perfectly with the bouquet. AND, those lamb’s ear and hosta leaves came straight from my garden! I feel so much pride when I can contribute to the decorations like that 🙂

Photo of dress taken by http://www.vanarsdalephoto.com

Image

Bridesmaid’s bouquets were all yellow spray roses, ‘Latina’ yellow roses, yellow peonies, and silver lamb’s ear and variegated hosta leaves wrapped in blue satin ribbon.

Image

The ceremony was held at Bennett Chapel on the Oklahoma State University campus.  The aisles were lined with blue and yellow tissue paper pom poms.  The windows held hanging blue and silver ribbon with real flowers of yellow cremone mums and yellow button mums.

Image

Lisa and Dale of PlanIt Events did an AMAZING job decorating this venue!  Their attention to detail is just overwhelming sometimes.  What a great team! http://www.planiteventsonline.com/

Image

Up close of the ribbons and hanging flowers at the ceremony.

Image

The reception was held at the Conoco Phillips Alumni Center.  Half of the tables were decorated with various size vases of yellow cremone mums, white ‘Blizzard’ roses, yellow ‘Latina’ roses, yellow button mums, and yellow solidago. The other half contained blue and white chinese lanterns in vases and rose petals.

Image

Close up of the reception tables containing flowers. Various size vases, of yellow flowers.

Image

Beautiful wedding!  I love the opportunity to use flowers I can’t normally get during the year. I also enjoy showcasing my wide vase collection.  Those tiny jars once held baby food.  I just cleaned off the label after they were used.  Aren’t I “green”?!

One thing I will note, most websites advertise ‘Blizzard’ roses as being white.  They are actually ivory with a buttery yellow center.  They are white as long as they don’t open too much.  You can see in this picture some of the ‘Blizzard’ roses that are starting to blow open are slightly yellow. It worked perfectly for this wedding but if you have a pure white bouquet, you may think of using ‘Akito’ or ‘Escimo’ instead. Also, ‘Blizzard’ and ‘Latina’ have a very large head for a rose.  They do not make good flowers for corsages or boutonnieres (unless you like something the size of a softball hanging on your lapel).

About alteague3828

My name is Anna and I am a floral artist and a newbie at this diy project thing. I have been a florist for the better part of 15 years and love doing weddings in my "spare time". But my passion for pretty things doesn't stop there. I also fancy purchasing "junk" and giving it new life. And I try to show people how transforming these pieces doesn't have to break the bank. I hope this blog inspires you!

One response »

  1. Pingback: SNEAK PEEK: BURSTING BLOOMS WEDDING INVITATION | Ellinée journal | DIY Blog

Leave a Reply

