RSS Feed

Door to Headboard Project

 

As if weddings weren’t keeping me busy enough, I’ve decided to start DIY, Pinterest-inspired project section! Oh my creative juices just keep on flowin…. To clarify, these projects are not going to be so much of a “how did you do it”, step by step description thing. Oh no, I’m not that organized. It’ll be more of a “here’s what I did. Let it inspire you” thing. So saddle up! Here we go!

First up is my door to headboard project. So, I have this headboard…..

Door Headboard Project Before

…meh. It ain’t great. I bought the bed from my brother and it came with this headboard and matching footboard. Anyone who knows me knows I hate matchy match things. And I’m not a big fan of metal headboards either.

So – I found this GORGEOUS door at Habitat Restore:

Door Headboard Project

Habitat Restore is the resale shop they take all the building material Habitat for Humanity gets donated to them from companies and individuals remodeling their homes. All the proceeds go to Habitat for Humanity. It is a good cause people! I just happened to come on a “half off all doors” day so it was a STEAL at $25!

After a little spackle, paint, crown molding, 2 – 2×4’s for the base, lots of patience, and my husband entertaining the kiddos for half a day, here is the end result!

Door to Headboard - After

 

B-E-A-utiful! Definitely an upgrade on a budget. Still hate my curtains but that’ll be another project for another day.

Oh and those pictures were old canvases I modge-podged large black and white photos printed on plain paper at Kinko’s for $5 total. I’m such a cheap date 🙂

About alteague3828

My name is Anna and I am a floral artist and a newbie at this diy project thing. I have been a florist for the better part of 15 years and love doing weddings in my "spare time". But my passion for pretty things doesn't stop there. I also fancy purchasing "junk" and giving it new life. And I try to show people how transforming these pieces doesn't have to break the bank. I hope this blog inspires you!

Leave a Reply

