RSS Feed

“Character” Wall Art

 Office Sign - Character

So….our neighbor had this tree that had been dead for several summers…..

Tree Damage

….and it fell into our backyard busting up a few fence panels in the process. Honestly, the damage could’ve been worse so I wasn’t too upset. BUT, me being a hoarder one who doesn’t throw away good material, I took the broken fence panels and sanded them down. I then whitewashed them and sanded them down again. I took some mohogany gel stain and went over it with a damp cloth. Looked on Pinterest and found an awesome quote so I printed it on regular paper. Using an exacto-knife, I cut out the letters and used them as a stencil over my boards and voila!

Office Sign - Character

By the way, if you do a stencil on regular paper, it’s only good for one use. Once that paint wets the paper, it tends to tear and destroy your stencil. But it works in a pinch. Also, I could’ve cut each end flat and sanded it down but I LOVED the rough edges so I left them and put extra stain on them to make it look like the wood is aged. You wouldn’t believe how heavy this sucker is! I made sure to reinforce the back with 2 – 1x4s and made sure to drill it into a wall stud. Hope it inspires you!

About alteague3828

My name is Anna and I am a floral artist and a newbie at this diy project thing. I have been a florist for the better part of 15 years and love doing weddings in my "spare time". But my passion for pretty things doesn't stop there. I also fancy purchasing "junk" and giving it new life. And I try to show people how transforming these pieces doesn't have to break the bank. I hope this blog inspires you!

Leave a Reply

