RSS Feed

Coffee Table / Wooden Trunk Transformation

 This was one of my toughest pieces to work on…..

IMG_8490

This GORGEOUS solid wood Broyhill trunk! Ugh, I had a hard time deciding whether or not to change it from this beautiful natural wood color to something else. It was so pretty by itself…..but yet by itself, it was also pretty bland. This was slated to go into a brand new apartment with neutral walls and very little color. Therefore, we needed to make it a statement piece. So, first thing’s first……we need to sand that sucker down! And when I say sand down, I mean down through the clear lacquer so I could stain the wood underneath:

image9

Boy is that ugly, right?! I went through about 2 boxes of sandpaper getting it to this stage. Phew! Thank GOD for electric palm sanders!

image7

This is the color I chose for the trunk. It is Valspar “Sea Lily”. Looks like a mix between turquoise and sea foam green. Pretty cute. And here are the results after several coats and lightly distressing:

 image11

Overall, I’m happy with the results!

Trunkpage

 

 

About alteague3828

My name is Anna and I am a floral artist and a newbie at this diy project thing. I have been a florist for the better part of 15 years and love doing weddings in my "spare time". But my passion for pretty things doesn't stop there. I also fancy purchasing "junk" and giving it new life. And I try to show people how transforming these pieces doesn't have to break the bank. I hope this blog inspires you!

Leave a Reply

